Dream of the Blue Poodles

Selina was pacing the kitchen floor when I walked in to get some tea.

“What are you doing?” I asked.

“Oh…just thinking,” she said.

“What are you thinking about?”

“I’m thinking about what kind of dog I want to get.”

We can’t get a dog. Not in this condo, not at the kids’ ages, not while Cole is commuting to work. We got guinea pigs almost a year ago to give Selina a cuddly mammal to molest, but she still spends an inordinate amount of time planning for her someday dog.

“What kind of dog do you think you might like to get?” I ask her.

I try to give her as much fantasy dog as possible, considering how much I feel I’m failing her in the real dog department.

“I think…a poodle. Because it’s curly–like me!”

She changes dog types frequently, but I gently urge standard poodles when given the chance because they are less allergy-inducing. So I was happy to hear this.

“That sounds like a great idea,” I tell her.

She pauses.

“But…I don’t think poodles usually come in blue…

4 responses to “Dream of the Blue Poodles

  1. I do not know. I bet there are poodle groomers who are willing to consider blue. (Then again, considering the protests when Emma Watson walked her friend’s pink poodle, it’s probably not actually good for the poodle.)

  2. It is my understanding that dye is not good for animals. But maybe we’ll find a greyish-blue one from a rescue…

  3. There was a lady at the 4th of July Parade this year who had a red (dyed) poodle, a white poodle, and a blue poodle. She claims the blue koolaid works pretty well, but your mileage might vary…

  4. How cool!
    I’m not sure if dressing animals in sweaters is more or less cruel than Kool-Aid… but that’s another way to have a blue poodle. Or a red poodle. Or a poodle in an ugly Christmas sweater….

Leave a Reply

